Toxic Threads

Care Label

This week, Greenpeace have released a report detailing the toxic trail of the textile industry in China. I haven’t had chance to read it yet, but the accompanying pictures really put specific faces and stories to sometimes uninspiring facts and figures.  Go take a look.

A quick browse through my wardrobe and I discover that my favourite dress is made in China (and I’m sure countless other garments) so it’s easy to see that we should all be taking an interest in where our clothing comes from. It’s particularly timely as I’ve just written an article for the Bloomtrigger Project about the ecological impacts of cotton production which you can read here.

If you’re interested in finding out more about ethical fashion I’d suggest stopping by this blog, ran by a friend of mine, Katie Ledger. Her enthusiasm for all things green is catching and I must have picked up lots of interesting facts purely by osmosis over the years. She really knows her stuff, why not take a look and be inspired.

Leave a Reply

